Catholic Interest Itineraries - a 10 Day Tour


Follow the footsteps of Jesus in a tour of the Holy Land: walk the Via Dolorosa, visit Nazareth and wet your feet in the Sea of Galilee. A spiritual experience to remember.


Day 5

Mount of Olives
The Dome of the Ascension
Dominus Flevit
The Garden of Gethsemane
St. Peter in Gallicantu

Jerusalem – The Mount of Olives and Mount Zion


Mount of Olives –a magnificent vantage point of the Holy City, with many important churches marking biblical sites, including:


Paternoster – where Jesus taught the Our Father prayer (Luke 11:1-4).


The Dome of the Ascension ­– the site where Jesus ascended to Heaven (Acts 1:11).


Bethphage – where Jesus began the triumphal entrance to Jerusalem on Palm Sunday (Luke 19:29).


Dominus Flevit – where Jesus wept over Jerusalem (Luke 19:41).


The Garden of Gethsemane – with its ancient olive trees where Jesus was arrested (John 18:1-12), next to the Church of All Nations, named for the contributions made by Catholics from around the world. The church overlooks the Kidron Valley (John 18:1), and is also known as the Basilica of the Agony, as here Jesus sweated blood in fervent prayer (Luke 22:44).


Mount Zion, including:  

St. Peter in Gallicantu – with its beautiful mosaics and bronze statuary, built over the ruins of the house of Caiphas (Matt. 26:57), the stone pit where tradition says Jesus was held, and the Sacred Staircase, which for centuries has led here from the Kidron Valley.


The Coenaculum – or Room of the Last Supper, built over the site of where Jesus and the disciples celebrated the first Eucharist (Mark 14:24).  


Dormition Abbey – marking the site of the Dormition of Mary, where Mary was taken up to Heaven.


Possible venues for Mass: Pater Noster, Dominus Flevit, Church of All Nations, or the Dormition Abbey; St. Peter in Gallicantu, Bethphage. 

Catholic Interest Itineraries - a 10 Day Tour